The Weekly Wrap-Up: Volume 1

Although I haven’t been blogging about what TKA and I have been making in the kitchen, we have been really busy cooking up a storm! Using up our weekly box of CSA veggies is no easy feat and I’m on a mission to ensure that nothing gets wasted!

We get a LOT of carrots and spinach in each box, so although there aren’t a lot of spinach recipes listed in what we’ve been cooking, we’ve been drinking a spinach smoothie at breakfast or having a spinach salad with dinner nearly every day. I am sure we will have Popeye-like strength very soon!

These are most of the things I’ve made over the past week or so:

Whole Grain Vegan Carrot Cake Loaf with Lemon Glaze
I thought this was awesome, especially for something without sugar in the “cake” part. I actually made this in an 8×8 pan and omitted the lemon zest (I didn’t have a lemon). I also used whole wheat flour instead of spelt flour as gluten isn’t an issue for us. We all really liked it a lot and I don’t think it needs the lemon glaze if you’re avoiding sugar.

Quinoa Chickpea and Avocado Salad
Made this for a picnic lunch with friends. I used green pepper instead of cucumber and served the avocado on the side rather than in the salad. Husband and I actually ate the leftovers without any avocado and I didn’t miss it at all and that really reduced the fat content of the salad! I also used chives (from the CSA) instead of onion. Husband declared that this was “beautiful!”

Vegan Vanilla Berry Muffins
I made these to take along to a group we attend, so I doubled the recipe and made mini muffins. I think they would probably be better as regular sized muffins as the big berries (I used raspberries and blackberries) caused the mini muffins to be a bit unstable. If I made these again, I would probably mash up the berries a bit or make them full sized. Everyone who ate them (at least 40 people!) declared that they were delicious and I saw some people sneaking some to take home. All in all, they were a big hit!

Banana Bread
As a disclaimer, I can’t eat bananas. Usually TKA is the big banana eater in our house. Last week he was under the weather and wasn’t eating much so we ended up with a few black bananas. I mashed them up into this recipe. From how quickly Husband and TKA devoured it, I can only assume that should we find ourselves with more black bananas, I should use them to recreate this bread! I really want to try it again omitting the sugar and using a substitute instead!

Our Perfect Veggie Burger
We made these before, but in my quest to use up my carrots, we made them again! TKA helped with nearly every part of these burgers. I was working on them and he pulled a chair over to the kitchen counter to climb up to assist. Obviously, I hadn’t invited him to the party soon enough! He was awesome at food processing and measuring and bean rinsing and draining!

Sesame Miso Ginger Salad Dressing
I made this to go on our salads paired with the veggie burgers. I thought it was really good and I would definitely make it again. The nice thing is that we have left-over dressing so I can use it for at least a couple more nights.

Leave a Reply

